The Martinez Law Firm Click here to be instantly connected to our office!
Houston DWI Defense Lawyer Firm Profile Attorney Profile Houston DWI Defense Case Results En EspaƱol Contact Us
You only have 15 days to save your driving privileges. Take action today!
We understand how the other side thinks. Let this advantage work for you!
If you've been charged with a DWI, don't wait!  Schedule a free consultation today.
A guide for choosing the right DWI attorney for you.
Preparing a Defense
What Will Happen to Your License?
15 Day Rule
DWI Penalties
Challenging the Evidence
First Time DWI
Multiple DWI
Underage DWI
Alcohol Absorption & Elimination
ALR Hearings
Arrested with CDL
Breath & Blood Tests
Driving While Intoxicated
Driving with Child Passenger
Drugged Driving
Felony Charges
Field Sobriety Tests
Intoxication Assault
Intoxication Manslaughter
Out-of-State DWI
Unlawful Traffic Stops
DWI Videos

Texas Surcharges Getting Knocked Out

You know when something is a colossal mistake when the State of Texas is willing to forget about over a billion dollars of debt.  That is what the State of Texas is considering doing because they realize that they would rather have insured drivers then having people driving around without automobile insurance because they can not or will not pay the fees associated with a DWI conviction.  Typically, a person is charged a $1000 a year surcharge for the three years following their drunk driving conviction in Texas.  If the person refuses to pay the fees they are deemed uninsurable by the state.  Left with little or no choice these same people continue driving at a cost to the innocent public.  How would you like to be left without an automobile after being involved with a person that did not have insurance because they could not pay these surcharges.  It is not a surprise that so many people are unable to pay the fees after they must spend so much money to defend their case. 
Categories: drunk driving
Click here to be instantly connected to our office.
Social Media