Almost every driver understands that it is illegal for a motorist to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol that would cause his or her BAC to exceed 0.08%. But did you know that it is also illegal to operate a bicycle when you are under the influence? Many people assume that bicycle laws are different from those involving cars, but in Texas bicyclists on the street are held to the exact same standard. All Texas DWI laws apply to bike riders, and they can be sentenced to the exact same sentences as a driver. This means that a bicyclist may still lose his or her driver's license upon conviction, and may need to attend traffic school, serve community service, spend time behind bars, or pay fines and fees.
Those who are caught biking under the influence of the first time will normally suffer light penalties, but they are still severe. Your conviction will go on your criminal record, and will cause your automobile insurance to skyrocket. In Texas, first-time offenders are charged a Class B misdemeanor for driving under the influence. This will result in at least three days of jail and up to $2,000 in fines and fees. If you are caught with a BAC over 0.16%, which is twice the legal limit, then you will be charged the full $2,000 fine. Chances are that you will also need to complete 12 hours of DUI educational classes and will lose your license.
You may be given a provisional license will allow you to travel to and from work, but when you are not driving that commute you will be prohibited from operating your vehicle. Also, you may be forced to serve 24 hours of community service. If you have been arrested for a biking under the influence offense and want to try to combat your charges, hire a Houston DWI attorney at The Martinez Law Firm today for more information. With the right lawyer on your side, you will be able to tackle your case and may even be able to avoid conviction!