You Only Have 15 Days to Save Your License!
Call a Proven Houston DWI Attorney Today
For many, being arrested for allegedly driving while intoxicated is the most frightening situation they will ever face. What many people don't realize, however, is that when arrested for a DWI, they not only face one case, but two: the criminal case, and the civil one, known as the ALR hearing. This ALR hearing is equally important to your future as a legal driver and requires immediate action. Upon notice of an ALR hearing, a requirement known as
the 15 Day Rule goes into effect.
What You Need to Know About ALR Hearings
After you have been arrested for a DWI, you will be given a "Notice of Suspension." This document, according to §524.014 of the Texas Transportation Code, must explain the grounds for the suspension of your license; the date that the suspension will become effective, and the fact that the person receiving the notice has rights to a hearing. Recipients then have 15 days to schedule this hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety, Driver Improvement Bureau.
You must call, fax, or mail the following information:
- Full name
- Date of birth
- Driver license number
- Current mailing address
- Home and daytime numbers
- Date and county of arrest
- Arresting agency and officer
- Whether test was failed, refused or not requested
You will also need to specify whether you would like to have your hearing in person or over the telephone. If this is received within 15 days of the time you received the notice, you will be notified of the date and time of your hearing. In the meantime, it is important to hold on to your notice, as it will serve as a temporary driving permit. If you do not reply in 15 days, you will forfeit your right to fight for your driving privileges. If you proceed in the ALR hearing and your license is reinstated, you will need to pay a fee of $125.
How long could my license be suspended for?
If you go through with the ALR hearing and the ruling is not found in your favor, then you license will be suspended. The length of the suspension depends on the circumstances of your arrest. For instance, if you're over 18 and you were arrested and refused a blood alcohol test, this will result in 180 days suspension. If you did submit the test and were found to be over the BAC limit, then the suspension is for 90 days. These suspensions vary, but can last up to two years in serious cases.
It's important to note again that these are not part of your criminal charges—ALR hearings are a civil matter and should be taken just as seriously when facing a DWI.
Contact the Martinez Law Firm today!
In the aftermath of a DWI arrest, it is extremely important that immediate steps are taken to protect your legal rights. At the Martinez Law Firm, we have over 15 years of experience in this arena. We know how to navigate both criminal and civil hearings and are ready to help you protect your rights and your driving privileges.
If you have further questions about the ALR hearing, ALR suspensions, and how our firm can benefit you in the time leading up to them, you should not hesitate to contact an experienced Houston DWI lawyer at our firm as soon as possible. We know the importance of immediate action and will start work to help you request this hearing today.
Contact us now for a free consultation!